Completed Book Cover

De Macht Van Mardion small

After being commissioned by Dutch author Martijn Broek, I’ve completed the front cover for his upcoming fantasy novel “The Power of Mardion. The Sword and Shield”. The image was really fun to work on and was completed almost entirely in 3D modelling program Zbrush. Zbrush is transforming the way I work as I think I’m a better sculptor than I am a sketcher, so I do even my most preliminary “sketches” in 3D form. It’s particularly effective when it comes to designing hard surface objects like metal shields. It was all finished of and composited in Photoshop and had a good deal of traditional painting done over the top of the 3D elements. It’s hopefully made for a rather pleasing final effect. The author is certainly happy with it, and so am I.

 

Leave a comment